Frequently Asked Questions
Why Certified Driving School?
We’ve been in business since 1972. Our founder, Jerry Mazur, still owns, operates, & teaches classes today. We don’t like to brag, but we’re the best in the business with decades of proven results. Our reputation speaks for itself & our staff includes over 30 current and retired classroom teachers. We know teens & we have the knowledge and experience to make a real difference in teaching teens & adults how to drive safely.
Why take driver’s education?
Let’s be honest, most parents don’t have the time – or the patience – to teach their teens how to drive. Besides learning to drive safely & understanding the laws, you qualify to get your driver’s license earlier in Indiana if you complete a professional driver’s education program. By completing our driving program, you can get your license as early as 16 years and 3 months if your permit is 6 months old.
Without driver’s education, the earliest you can get your license is 16 years and 9 months. Plus, most insurance companies give discounts for completing driver’s education classes.
When is the earliest I can get my license?
As of July 15, 2015, teenagers in Indiana can get their license as early as 16 years and 3 months old – as long as they have completed our driver’s education course, and their permit is at least 6 months old.
Do I need a permit to start classes?
No. This is one of our most asked and misunderstood questions. As long as you’re 15 years old, you can start taking our driving classes. You can complete the entire classroom portion without a permit, but you cannot start the driving portion of the program without an Indiana driver’s permit.
When’s the best time to get my permit?
As soon as possible. Practice makes perfect so once you turn 15 years old, you should look over our study guide and give the test at the BMV a shot. Getting the permit early gives you more practice time on the road and builds confidence. Just remember, you can’t get your license unless your permit is at least 6 months old. In other words, waiting to get your permit makes you wait to get your license, too!
I’m over 18 years old, do I need to hold my permit for 6 months?
Yes, you do. It doesn’t matter if you’re 16, 18, 21 or 50 years old, you have to hold your permit for 6 months in the state of Indiana. No exceptions. The reason why? It doesn’t matter what your age is, if you’re new to driving you need practice to pass your driving test.
I live in Porter County. Can I still do the driver’s education program through Certified?
Absolutely. We regularly have students who reside in Porter and Starke Counties attend classes in our Crown Point office. Our offices are located in Lake County, but we welcome all students from the Northwest Indiana region. Students that live further away also have the convenience of driving with an instructor before or after class to get their hours in.
I’m an adult, so why do I need driver’s education?
Driving lessons can benefit motorists at any age. No matter how old you are, the prospect of learning how to drive can be intimidating and stressful. Adults are blended into our classes with teens and are offered the same quality services we’ve always been known for. Each year we service hundreds of adult drivers and get them road ready. Plus, the advantage of completing our program makes you eligible to take the state driving test with us.
I’m nervous and I don’t want to drive, so why should I get my permit?
You might not be ready now, but you will be ready before you know it. Having your permit gives you the flexibility of practicing without being worried about getting into an accident without one.
I have my permit, but have never driven before. How do I start?
A word to the wise would be to get yourself acclimated with a family member in a parking lot just to get comfortable in the vehicle. It will make it so much easier when you sign up to drive with an instructor because we can work on so many more things on the open road.
Is 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving really enough?
Believe it or not, we’ve taken the most novice drivers a long way in 6 hours. Sure, practicing at home is a must because you need 50 hours of driving time on your log to get your license, but we guarantee you will feel more comfortable on the road after you have driven with the instructors at Certified Driving. We also offer additional driving hours for those who feel they need it. Check out our additional services page for more information.
What if I want to take my driving test at the BMV?
If you have completed your 30 classroom hours, and 6 of behind-the-wheel driving hours, you can elect to take your test at the BMV rather than with us. Simply stop by our office to get your letter of completion which is required for testing at the BMV.
I just signed my teenager up for driver’s education, can I come pick up the paperwork to take the permit test?
Yes, but be aware that adhering to state guidelines and regulations takes some time and new sign-ups require a minimum of 24 hours to process. We'll make every effort to process each student's paperwork as quickly as possible.
What do I need to bring to class?
Please bring a notebook and pencil to class each day. Certified teachers will be providing you notes and information to help you pass the written test at the end of your driver's education course.
“Great experience with Certified. Always found a way to work with our schedule. I have confidence that my son can get out on the road by himself now after the training he received there.”-Elizabeth
“My daughter just completed all the requirements and will get her license next week! I am extremely thankful for Mr. Waddle and his patience while teaching her to drive. He made her feel confident and comfortable through the entire process. Thank you!”-Michelle
“Certified is incredible! Price is fantastic for what is given, kids love it, teachers are calm, motivating and fantastic. Definitely prepared them for exams, driving and safety. Money well spent!”-Paula
“Outstanding service! They worked around my daughter’s busy schedule with ease. The best part is that my daughter’s driving doesn’t even make me nervous.”-Chuck
“My son took drivers education through Certified. A great staff who has patience with teens and really strived to make sure my son was comfortable behind the wheel and trained to drive appropriately. Mr. Waddle did a great job!”-Jodee
Join the tens of thousands of students who’ve learned to drive the certified way.